MINUTES OF A VIRTUAL EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF THE COUNCIL held remotely on Tuesday, 10 November 2020 at 2.00 pm.

Council Members Present (virtually)

The Right Worshipful The Lord Mayor Councillor Rob Wood (in the Chair)

Councillors

Dave Ashmore Matthew Atkins Chris Attwell Simon Bosher Tom Coles Cal Corkery **Ben Dowling** Jason Fazackarley John Ferrett George Fielding Scott Payter-Harris **Graham Heaney** Hannah Hockaday Jo Hooper Suzy Horton Lee Hunt Frank Jonas BEM Donna Jones Leo Madden

Hugh Mason Lee Mason **Terry Norton** Stephen Morgan MP Gemma New **Robert New** Steve Pitt Will Purvis **Darren Sanders** Jeanette Smith Lynne Stagg Judith Smyth Luke Stubbs Benedict Swann Linda Symes Claire Udv Gerald Vernon-Jackson CBE Steve Wemyss Matthew Winnington Tom Wood

General Procedural Announcements

Link to the agenda

https://democracy.portsmouth.gov.uk/ieListDocuments.aspx?Cld=146&Ml d=4637&Ver=4

The Lord Mayor welcomed everyone to the meeting that is being held virtually in response to the limitations placed on government by the Covid-19 pandemic. He advised that the meeting would be run by reference to the model standing orders as set out in the Local Authorities (Coronavirus) Flexibility of Local Authority Meetings Regulations 2020. The Lord Mayor then ran through the etiquette relating to virtual meetings.

79. Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received on behalf of Councillor Neill Young. Apologies for absence from the extraordinary meeting were given on behalf of Councillor David Fuller (owing to technical difficulties) but he was able to join the ordinary meeting.

2 10 November 2020

80. Written Deputations

The Lord Mayor advised that no written deputations had been received relating to the business on the extraordinary meeting's agenda.

81. Admission to the Roll of Honorary Aldermen - Mr Steven Wylie

The Lord Mayor advised that the motion to admit Mr Steven Wylie as an Honorary Alderman will need to be passed by not less than two thirds of the members voting.

It was

Proposed by Councillor Gerald Vernon-Jackson Seconded by Councillor Claire Udy

That the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on Mr Steven Wylie, a former member and Lord Mayor of the Portsmouth City Council.

The proposer of the motion gave a short speech in support, as did the seconder of the motion.

RESOLVED unanimously that the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on Mr Steven Wylie and that a certificate confirming this decision be presented to him at a future city council meeting.

The meeting concluded at 2.15 pm.

.....

Lord Mayor